History of Gyeonggi Province
Gyeonggi province was formed as a tribal nation during the Old Stone Age along the Han river, which cuts across the waist of the Korean peninsula.

Upon division of the Jin nation into three nations, it became the territory of Mahan & Jinhan, which had influence as far as the southern Han river. Politically, it was under a confederate state ruled by King Jin of Weolji.
The region was part of Baekjae territory for 400 years after the founder of Baekjae, King Onjo established it as the seat of government.
On an expedition against Baekjae, Great King Gwangaetoe, 19th king of Goguryo, destroyed a naval force at Daebang (Gyeonggi & Hwanghae), seized the western sea route and continued to advance south to occupy the regions of Imjin and the Han River. It was a region of conflict of interest between two nations until Shilla unified the three nations.
In the 16th year of his reign, King Gyeongdeok, the 35th king of Shilla imitated the Tang nation's administrative system and implemented a 9-state system nationwide under Hanju. In the reign of the 6th King Seongjong of Goryeo, a 10-province system was enforced.
In the 8th year of the reign of King Hyeonjong of Goryeo, the region was renamed Yanggang Province. Gaeseong and 13 Hyeon near the region fell under central jurisdiction and were called Gyeonggi Province. In the 34th year of the reign of King of Gongyang of Goryeo, the region was divided into Gyeonggi-Right Province and Gyeonggi-Left Province.
The 3rd King Taejeong of Joseon implemented an 8-province system. The vicinity of the metropolis of Seoul was called Hanseong-Bu and was under central jurisdiction.
The 8-province system was abolished and a 23-sub-region system implemented, thereby establishing three Bus: Hanseong, Incheon, and Gaeseong.
With the implementation of a 13-province system, Gyeonggi Province was restored. (3 Bus, 34 Guns)
The provincial government was moved from Suwon to Gyeonseong-bu (the old name for Seoul). Hanseong-bu, which was centrally administered, was renamed Gyeongseong-bu and incorporated into Gyeonggi-do after the Japanese annexation of Korea.
8.15 Independence.
The Provincial Government Building moved (Seoul -> Suwon current location)
6 Cities 4 Gus 18 Guns 14 Eups 180 Myeons
Changed the Administrative Jurisdiction to 18 Cities 18 Guns 30 Eups 155Myeons
Administrative jurisdiction changed to 23 Cities and 8 Guns
2000 year
Part of Sanro-Ri, Ohji-Ri in Dongseong-Eup, Cheolwon-Gun, Gangwon Province became Pocheon-Eup, Pocheon-Gun, Gyeonggi Province under boundary settlement. Part of Dandong-Ri, in Gwanin-Eup, Gyeonggi Province became Cheolwon-Gun, Gangwon Province under boundary settlement.
2001 year
Elevation of Hwaseong-Gun to Hwasung City, and Gwangju-Gun to Gwangju City (25 Cities, 6 Guns)
Division of Jeongwang 1,2-dong to Jeongwang 1,2,3,4-dong by the ordinance No.694 of Siheung City(promulgated in 2nd, March, 2002)
Raising of status from Gyoha-Myeon to Gyoha-Eup, Jori-Myeon to Jori-Eup by the ordinance No.435 of Paju City
Establishment of Sangrok-gu and Danwon-gu by ordinance No.1027 of Ansan city(promulgated in 1st, October, 2002)
Raising of status from Anjung-myeon to Anjung-Eup by the ordinance No.585 of Pyeongtaek City (promulgated in 5th, November, 2002)